bio.be/essenscia is the Belgian federation representing companies active in the biotech and life sciences industry. It is the recognised voice of the biotech community and operates under the umbrella of essenscia, the sector federation of the chemical and life sciences industry.

Latest news

Belgian biotech and biopharma: economic recovery, the right moment to firmly anchor tomorrow’s bioproduction in our country

Belgian biotech and biopharma: economic recovery, the right moment to firmly anchor tomorrow's bioproduction in our country

The future of Belgian biotech: from ‘invented in Belgium’ to ‘made in Belgium’

The future of Belgian biotech: from 'invented in Belgium' to 'made in Belgium’

bio.be/essenscia welcomes the European Commission’s progress on new genomic techniques

bio.be/essenscia welcomes the European Commission's progress on new genomic techniques

DNA of bio.be/essenscia

Biotechnology and life sciences are key levers for the transformation towards a sustainable, modern and healthy society worldwide. Representing the different biotech sectors (health, agriculture & the biobased industry) at regional and federal level, bio.be/essenscia is the recognised voice of the biotech community to boost innovation and industrialisation in Belgium and beyond.

Contact

druck_frederic
Frédéric Druck
Secretary General FDruck@essenscia.be
DnHVgDu3_400x400

Tineke Van hooland

Deputy Secretary General

Chair National Associations Council (NAC) at EuropaBio

TVanhooland@essenscia.be

Sandrine Georges

Sandrine Georges
Assistant

SGeorges@essenscia.be

Useful links

Download

Find us on

Belgium, a biotech valley like no other

Belgium occupies a unique position thanks to its excellent performance across the entire biotech value chain: from fundamental research and development, across (pre-)clinical trials all the way up to state-of-the-art production. In Belgium we have an eco-system which is further strengthened through a close cooperation between academic institutions, hospitals, spin-offs, start-ups, SMEs, large international corporations and a vast logistics network (e.g. airports, ports). Belgium is a biotech valley like no other with a worldwide renown.

Biotech beyond Belgium

Belgium is considered to be one of the world’s most prominent research nations. Our Belgian ecosystem is highly valued internationally, confirmed by the many foreign investments and transatlantic partnerships. Our entire value chain – from knowledge, to biomanufacturing processes and products – has a global impact and is very much cherished. As such, our voice is not limited to Belgium. bio.be/essenscia is also a member of EuropaBio, the European Association of Bioindustries, and ICBA, the International Council of Biotechnology Associations.

Sustainable solutions for a better world

Our diverse range of members all share the belief that science and technology are key for the transformation towards a sustainable, innovative and healthy society. They are passionate for the opportunities that help to address the world’s agricultural, environmental and health challenges. Through their innovative processes and products, our biotech companies are determined to make a large contribution to a better and more sustainable future.


Join bio.be/essenscia

By joining bio.be/essenscia our member companies become part of an effective advocacy and regulatory voice representing and promoting the collective interests of the Belgian life sciences and biotechnology industry at both Belgian (federal and regional) and European level. We have the tools to help our member’s business reach its full potential – from R&D to growth and excellence in biomanufacturing – through advocacy, communication and membership services, like dedicated working groups on the latest trends in biotechnology.

Board of directors

Our board of directors decides upon the strategy of bio.be and captures the priorities based upon proposals from our various working groups and team of experts. Our board members represent all subsectors and comprise both large international corporations and SMEs.

  • Geoffrey Pot, Takeda, President
  • Dirk Carrez, Cleverconsult
  • Frédéric Druck, bio.be/essenscia
  • Denis Dufrane, Novadip
  • David Fontaine, AbbVie
  • Eric Halioua, PDC Line Pharma
  • Jean-Michel Luyckx, Novartis
  • Marc Martens, Bird&Bird
  • Tijs Neutens, Amgen
  • Cristelle Noirhomme, GSK
  • Patrick Rüdelsheim, Perseus
  • Bart Schelfhout, Sanofi
  • Tineke Van hooland, bio.be/essenscia
  • Cedric Volanti, Thermo Fisher
  • Hendrik Waegeman, Bio Based Europe Pilot Plant

A word from the president

“It is both an honour and a great responsibility to ensure the development of a growth sector with more than 300 companies and over 35,000 quality jobs. We want to ensure that development is based on constructive consultation and a solution-oriented approach, in dialogue with government, institutions, education, and the relevant unions. Let’s create, connect and communicate, together!”
bio.be_Geoffrey_Pot

Geoffrey Pot,
President bio.be/essenscia

Our members

An overview of the members of bio.be/essenscia can be found here.

bio.be/essenscia est la fédération belge des entreprises actives dans les biotechnologies et les sciences de la vie. Elle représente et défend les intérêts de ses entreprises membres, tant au niveau belge (fédéral et régional) qu’européen. bio.be/essenscia est placée sous la coupole d’essenscia, la fédération belge de la chimie et des sciences de la vie

Dernières actualités

Edito Frédéric Druck – Des talents pour un monde durable et en bonne santé

Edito Frédéric Druck – Des talents pour un monde durable et en bonne santé

bio.be/essenscia et le Premier ministre Alexander De Croo dévoilent un plan stratégique commun visant à renforcer l’expertise belge dans les domaines de la pharma et de la biotech

bio.be/essenscia et le Premier ministre Alexander De Croo dévoilent un plan stratégique commun visant à renforcer l’expertise belge dans les domaines de la pharma et de la biotech

Biotech et biopharma belges : la relance économique, le moment clé pour ancrer la bioproduction de demain dans notre pays

Biotech et biopharma belges : la relance économique, le moment clé pour ancrer la bioproduction de demain dans notre pays

L’ADN de bio.be/essenscia

La biotechnologie et les sciences de la vie constituent des leviers essentiels de la transformation vers une société durable, moderne et saine. En tant que représentante des différents secteurs biotechnologiques (santé, agriculture et industrie biobasée) au niveau régional et fédéral, bio.be/essenscia est reconnue comme porte-parole de la communauté biotechnologique pour stimuler l’innovation et l’industrialisation en Belgique et au-delà.

Contact

druck_frederic
Frédéric Druck
Secrétaire général FDruck@essenscia.be
DnHVgDu3_400x400
Tineke Van hooland
Secrétaire générale adjointe Présidente du National Associations Council (NAC) d’EuropaBio
TVanhooland@essenscia.be
Sandrine Georges

Sandrine Georges

Assistante

SGeorges@essenscia.be

Liens utiles

Télécharger

Nous suivre sur

La Belgique, une biotech valley

La Belgique occupe une position unique dans le domaine de la biotechnologie grâce à son excellente chaîne de valeur: depuis la recherche fondamentale et le développement jusqu’à la production de pointe, en passant par les essais (pré-)cliniques. En Belgique, nous disposons d’un écosystème qui est encore renforcé par une coopération étroite entre les institutions académiques, les hôpitaux, les spin-offs, les start-ups, les PME, les grandes entreprises internationales et un vaste réseau logistique (par exemple: les aéroports, les ports). La Belgique est une « vallée biotechnologique » unique en son genre, qui jouit d’une renommée mondiale.

La biotech, au-delà de la Belgique

La Belgique est considérée comme l’une des nations de recherche les plus importantes au monde. Notre écosystème belge est très apprécié au niveau international, comme le confirment les nombreux investissements étrangers et les partenariats transatlantiques. L’ensemble de notre chaîne de valeur – depuis la connaissance jusqu’aux processus de bioproduction et aux produits – a un impact mondial. En tant que telle, notre voix ne se limite pas à la Belgique. bio.be/essenscia est également membre d’EuropaBio, l’association européenne des bioindustries, et de l’ICBA, le conseil international des associations biotechnologiques.

Des solutions durables pour un monde meilleur

Nos différents membres partagent tous la même conviction: la science et la technologie sont essentielles à la transformation vers une société durable, innovante et saine. Ils sont passionnés par les opportunités qui permettent de relever les défis mondiaux en matière d’agriculture, d’environnement et de santé. Grâce à leurs processus et produits innovants, nos entreprises biotechnologiques sont déterminées à contribuer largement à un avenir meilleur et plus durable.

Devenir membre de bio.be/essenscia

En rejoignant bio.be/essenscia, nos entreprises membres font partie d’une organisation qui représente et promeut les intérêts collectifs de l’industrie belge des sciences de la vie et de la biotechnologie, et ce au niveau belge (fédéral et régional) et européen. Nous disposons de nombreuses ressources pour aider nos entreprises membres à atteindre leur plein potentiel – depuis la R&D jusqu’à la croissance et à l’excellence en matière de bioproduction – par le biais de la défense des intérêts, de la communication et de services tels que des groupes de travail spécialisés dans les dernières tendances en matière de biotechnologie.

Conseil d’administration

Notre conseil d’administration décide de la stratégie de bio.be/essenscia et fixe les priorités sur base des propositions de nos différents groupes de travail et de notre équipe d’experts. Les membres de notre conseil d’administration représentent l’ensemble des sous-secteurs et comprennent aussi bien des grandes entreprises internationales que des PME.
  • Geoffrey Pot, Takeda, Président
  • Dirk Carrez, Cleverconsult
  • Frédéric Druck, bio.be/essenscia
  • Denis Dufrane, Novadip
  • David Fontaine, AbbVie
  • Eric Halioua, PDC Line Pharma
  • Jean-Michel Luyckx, Novartis
  • Marc Martens, Bird&Bird
  • Tijs Neutens, Amgen
  • Cristelle Noirhomme, GSK
  • Patrick Rüdelsheim, Perseus
  • Bart Schelfhout, Sanofi
  • Tineke Van hooland, bio.be/essenscia
  • Cedric Volanti, Thermo Fisher
  • Hendrik Waegeman, Bio Based Europe Pilot Plant

Le mot du président

« C’est à la fois un honneur et une grande responsabilité d’assurer le développement d’un secteur en pleine croissance qui compte plus de 300 entreprises et plus de 35 000 emplois. Nous souhaitons nous assurer que ce développement soit basé sur une consultation constructive et une approche orientée solutions, et ce en dialogue avec le gouvernement, les institutions, l’éducation et les syndicats concernés. Créons, connectons et communiquons ensemble ! »
bio.be_Geoffrey_Pot
Geoffrey Pot,
Président bio.be/essenscia

Nos membres

Un aperçu des membres de bio.be/essenscia peut être trouvé ici.