essenscia Innovation Award 2022

With record investments of 5.6 billion euros in R&D in 2020, no less than 422 patents granted, and more than 11,000 people working in an R&D-related activities or R&D departments, the chemical, plastics, and life sciences sector is the innovation champion in Belgium.

To honor this innovation-oriented mindset and to highlight breakthrough technologies and products, essenscia is launching the fifth edition of the Innovation Award.

Through this prestigious prize, the most important prize for industrial innovation in Belgium, we intend to put leading innovation projects in the spotlight. We also want to encourage Belgian companies and organizations to innovate even more, and to protect their intellectual assets.


32 innovation projects compete for the win

32 innovation dossiers have been submitted for the essenscia Innovation Award 2022. These are all very diverse innovation projects from the chemical, plastics, pharmaceutical and biotech sector. They come from start-ups and spin-offs, SMEs and international companies.

The finalists and the ultimate winner will be announced during the Innovation Award Ceremony at essenscia’s annual event on October 18 at Square Brussels. The event will take place in the presence of Prime Minister Alexander De Croo and Her Royal Highness Princess Astrid.

The following companies have applied for the essenscia Innovation Award 2022: Agfa-Gevaert, Bar.on, BiOkuris, Chevron Phillips, Dow Silicone, DW Reusables, Ellion, Evonik & Proviron, ExxonMobil, GSK, Home EOS, Janssen Pharmaceutica, Kaneka, Kantify, Necrete, Peace of Meat, PolyPerception, Power2Methanol, Puratos, QUALIblood, Quantoom Biosciences, R&O Lab, Rombio, Salubata, Sanofi, Schoeller Allibert, Secoya Technologies, Sil’Innov, Soudal, Vésale Bioscience, water-link, XenomatiX

Discover more in Dutch or French.

The essenscia Innovation Award ceremony will take place on October 18, 2022 in Square Brussels.
Participating companies will receive a personal invitation to attend the award ceremony.

Wall of Fame

Emulco & BASF
Breakthrough technology in the field of polyisobutene Finalists: Nanocyl & Lippens Paints, Promethera Biosciences, Proviron, Total R&D Feluy
Discover more in Dutch or French.
Agfa Graphics
New generation of low-migration inks
Finalists: Airopack, Eurogentec, Proviron, Recticel, Realco and Taminco
Discover more in Dutch or French.
Candidate vaccine against shingles
Finalists: BASF, Evonik, IRE ELiT, Mithra Pharmaceuticals and Qpinch
Discover more in Dutch or French.
New generation contraceptive pill
Finalists: Beaulieu, Eastman, Eurogentec, Janssen Pharmaceutica and Kaneka
Discover more in Dutch or French.

Presentation of the Jury

François Cornélis

President of the Innovation Fund for Chemistry & Life Sciences and former Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee of Total – President of the Jury

Véronique Halloin

Secretary-General of the Fund for Scientific Research – FNRS

Silvia Lenaerts

Professor and Vice-Rector Valorisation & Development of University of Antwerp

Piet Vandendriessche

CEO of Deloitte Belgium

Yves Verschueren

Managing Director of essenscia